Ohio State nav bar

Roman Holowinsky

Roman Holowinsky

Roman Holowinsky

Associate Professor, Mathematics Managing Director, The Erdős Institute Cofounder and Chair Emeritus, STEAM Factory


(614) 292-3941

100 Math Tower
231 West 18th Ave
Columbus, OH

Google Map

Areas of Expertise

  • Analytic Number Theory


  • Rutgers University, PhD
Roman Holowinsky is an American mathematician known for his work in analytic number theory and, in particular, the theory of modular forms. He is currently an Associate Professor with tenure at The Ohio State University, Managing Director of the Erdős Institute, and Cofounder and Chair Emeritus of The STEAM Factory. 
Holowinsky was awarded the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize in 2011 for his contributions to "areas of mathematics influenced by the genius Srinivasa Ramanujan", for proving, with Kannan Soundararajan, an important case of the Quantum Unique Ergodicity (QUE) conjecture. In 2011, Holowinsky was also awarded a Sloan Fellowship.
In addition to research and teaching, Holowinsky is highly active in service to The Ohio State University and the greater Columbus community.
Roman Holowinsky received a Bachelors in Science Degree from Rutgers University in 2001. Afterwards, he continued his studies at Rutgers and received his PhD in 2006 under the direction of Henryk Iwaniec.
Holowinsky's PhD thesis focused on the analysis of shifted convolution sums in application to the Quantum Unique Ergodicity (QUE) Conjecture of Rudnick and Sarnak. During his two year postdoctoral position at the University of Toronto and the Fields Institute, Holowinsky also became interested in sup-norm estimates for Hecke eigencuspforms. Work in this area resulted in publications pertaining to level aspect sup-norm bounds (joint with V. Blomer) and detailed spectral aspect estimates for higher rank groups (joint with K. Nowland, G. Ricotta, and E. Royer). Other interests include establishing subconvexity bounds for Rankin-Selberg L-functions in various settings (joint with K Aggarwal, Y. Lin, R. Munshi, P. Nelson, Q. Sun, N. Templier, and Z. Qi).
Holowinsky is currently mentoring 2 PhD students on their dissertation research. He has already graduated 5 PhD students: Keshav Aggarwal (2019), Yongxiao Lin (2018), Kevin Nowland (2018), Zhilin Ye (2014), and Zhi Qi (2015).

People Filters: